Olympic Boycotts

Olympic Rings

Politics has been a part of Olympic history for a very ling time. However, this partnership came to the forefront of public debate in late 1979. In protest for the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan, the American President Jimmy Carter, called for the United States team to boycott the 1980 Moscow Olympics. He issued this ultimatum saying that if Soviet troops did not withdraw from Afghanistan by midnight February 19 1980, the American team would boycott the Olympic Games. An official announcement of the boycott was made on March 21 1980.

Other countries including Japan, West Germany, Chins and Canada joined in the boycott whilst others such as Great Britain and France sent a smaller number of athletes than usual. This boycott seriously affected a number of events.

Some of the participating countries - Australia, Andorra, Belgium, Denmark, France, great Britain, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Puerto Rico, San Marino, Spain and Switzerland were not represented by their national flags at the opening, closing or medal ceremonies. They competed under the Olympic flag. As a result there were a few medal ceremonies were three Olympic flags were raised.

Remarkably, although only 81 nations took part, more world records were set in Moscow that in the 1976 games held in Montreal.

In 1984, the American city of Los Angeles hosted the Olympic Games. The Soviet Union boycotted these games. They gave their reason as concerns over the safety of their athletes in what they called an anti-communist environment. This action was regarded by many as a retaliatory move for the 1980 boycott. The Soviet allied countries also joined the boycott.

Despite the absence of the Soviets and their allies, the 1984 Games had 140 countries competing, with the American team winning over 80 gold medals.

It is ironic to note that whilst the Soviets boycotted the games, China returned to the Olympic stage in 1984 after a 32 year absence.